

Texas Gospel Music Excellence Awards

Larry Davies, Founder 1106 Juniper River Court Rosenburg, Texas 77471

February 28, 2022

Press Release

TGMEA 2022 Winners Announced

The Texas Gospel Music Excellence Awards were held on February 24-27, 2022 at the Marriott Hobby South Airport in Houston, Texas. The winners for the award categories were announced.

Texas Winners

Male Soloist of the Year	Mike B.Berry	Houston
Female Soloist of the Year	Paulette Wright	Houston
Gospel Group of the Year	John Waldon & Company	Houston
Male Quartet of the Year	Men of Purpose	Bryan
Female Quartet of the Year	Shaw Sister	Dallas
Gospel Youth Artist of Year	Lil Jesse Wortham	Huntsville
Gospel Rap Artist of the Year	Drestar	Houston
New Artist of the Year	Bert Cross	Houston
Inspirational Artist of the Year	John Waldon & Company	Houston
Gospel Musician of the Year	John Waldon	Houston
Choir Director of the Year	Kenneth Green	Houston
Church Choir of the Year	Willing Workers Missionary	
	Baptist Church	Houston
Community Choir of the Year	Jackie Smith & YDM	Houston
Praise Dance/Mime of the Year	Dazzling Divas	Houston

Praise Dance/Mime Director of the YearDenise WashingtonHoustonGospel Announcer of the YearTish JacksonHoustonGospel Radio Station of the YearKAGC 1510 AMBryan

National Awards

Male Soloist of the Year	Dr. Waverly Bumbrey	Redford, MI
Female Soloist of the Year	Lemmie Battles	Chicago, IL
Male Gospel Group of the Year	The Victory Travelers	Chicago, IL
Female Gospel Group of the Year	PreDestined	Dearborn, MI
Male Quartet of the Year	Young Men 4 Christ	Detroit, MI
Female Quartet of the Year	PreDestined	Dearborn, MI
Duo/Mixed Group of the Year	Sounds of Imani Ha	arper Woods, MI
New Artist of the Year	Franklin McGee III	Detroit, MI
Youth Artist of the Year	Anthony White & The DYC	Detroit, MI
Inspirational Artist of the Year	Carl B Phillips	Detroit, MI
Gospel Rap Artist of the Year	Cary the Dreamer	Tallahassee, FL
Praise & Worship Artist of the Year	Phyllis Wong	Tampa, FL
Instrumental Artist of the Year	Dray Hill	Detroit, MI
Choir Director of the Year	Kevin Lemons	Atlanta, GA
Church Choir of the Year	Dr. Waverly Bumbrey &	
	Refuge Temple	Redford, MI
Community Choir of the Year	E. LaQuint Weaver II &	
	The Hallelujah Singers	Detroit, MI
Praise Dance/Mime of the Year	Total Praise Dance &	
	Mime Ministry	Stone Mt. GA
Praise Dance/ Mime Director of the Year Keith Gilchrist		Mobile, AL

Producer of the Year	Tony Stanford	Detroit, MI
Promoter of the Year	Bob Mavorich	Chicago, IL
Gospel Announcer of the Year	E. LaQuint Weaver	Detroit, MI
Gospel Radio Station of the Year	WOKB 1680 AM	Orlando, FL
Gospel Internet Gospel Station of the	Year One Way Radio	Fort Campbell, KY

International Awards

Male Soloist of the Year	Jumu Grant	Canada
Female Soloist of the Year	Sis. Izzy Thomas	Jamaica/US
Duo/Group of the Year	The Levites	Ghana
Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year	Wayne Stoddart	Jamaica
Producer of the Year	Landlord	The Bahamas
Gospel Announcer of the Year	Landlord	The Bahamas
Gospel Station of the Year	So Arise Radio	Antigua

Special Awards

Kenneth Butler	Tyler, Texas
Dr. Jacquelyn Chambers	Houston, Texas
Dr. William Lawson	Houston, Texas
Dr. Gregory McPherson	Marshall, Texas
Dr. Dorothea Shanks Lott	Dallas, Texas
Cedric Bailey	Fort Worth, Texas
Chicago Mass Choir	Chicago, IL
Gregg Mathis	Houston, Texas
	Dr. Jacquelyn Chambers Dr. William Lawson Dr. Gregory McPherson Dr. Dorothea Shanks Lott Cedric Bailey Chicago Mass Choir

Yvonne Mitchell

Houston, Texas

TGMEA Awards Page 4

Trail Blazers Joey Riggins Houston, Texas

Andris Russaw Houston, Texas

Lucille Williams Houston, Texas

Minister James Willis Oklahoma, City, OK

Gospel Image Awards Gail Fly New Orleans, LA